| Share: | More

Coretta Scott King Award Winners

Established in 1969, The Coretta Scott King Award is awarded to an African American author and an African American illustrator who commemorates the life and teachings of Martin Luther King Jr., and celebrates Coretta Scott King’s continued work. Here are a few of my favorite Coretta Scott King award winning books.


16 January 2008

Day of Tears

Written by Julius Lester


16 January 2008

Martin’s Big Words

Written by Doreen Rappaport, Illustrated by Bryan Collier


16 January 2008

Elijah, of Buxton

Written by Christopher Paul Curtis


16 January 2008

Oh, Brother!

Written by Nikki Grimes, Illustrated by Mike Berry